dreams. moments. blue skies.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

I want to thank God for giving me this awesome chance to be a mum.

Spent a good long Saturday with Marco.
He had so much fun playing at the water fountain & playcourt of Vivo mall - we were there for a good 1.5 hours.
It got to a point he was shirtless and other mums were looking adoringly at him.
So funny.
He ran, he jumped, he slid, he hid, he crawled... he played to his heart's content.

What a beautiful day with my boy.

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Life, At This Point

Life, At This Point

Age: 28.5
Date: 10 February 2010
Time: 0045hrs
Place: Home
State of Mind: Restless, Naughty
Status: (Still) Married
Weight: See no evil. Feel no evil. Say no evil.
Height: Enough to skip heels.
Preoccupation: Domesticity


Recently, I Like:

-- any cheesy V-day chick flick
-- shopping with credit cards
-- drinking good ol' water
-- personalised, thoughtful gift-hunting and buying
-- nice wrappers
-- hair clips
-- pretty, comfy flats (as in shoes)
-- summery dresses
-- cute yet smart boys' shirts (for marco)
-- lingerie
-- old movies from the 80s/ 90s
-- budget flights
-- honest blogs
-- baking
-- malls




I have switched off on these:

-- facebook
-- old library magazines
-- haircuts
-- vintage
-- Marina area
-- all things CNY
-- starbucks & coffee
-- local magazines
-- work

Monday, February 08, 2010

decisions

So we're in Feb.
And a week shy of the Lunar New Year.

It's been quite a sombre weekend.
Ter is away in BKK, leaving just me and the boy alone for a good 4 days.
The predictable stuff are - the house cannot be messier and we have successfully turned it upside down.
I've slept more than i should too, probably cos i'm just shagged out from the stuff that i usually DO NOT DO - like washing bottles / laundry etc etc.
Yes i do appreciate him a tad more after this.

The unpredictables are -- it gave me a lot of clarity and space to just think.
Just today, a job opportunity came up.
It blew my mind, in a good way.
Of cos, it's a great job with great prospects, better pay etc etc.
If i were single, i'll go for it, in a heartbeat. No questions asked.
I was close to filling out my resume, or updating it, for that matter.

Then i went into the room for a sec, just lying there idle.
(in case you're wondering, i'm on leave today)
And i thought -- am i really in the right frame of mind to change jobs?
To ask for challenges and to forge a better career?
What gives?
Time with my son, of course.
It would be just like when i went back to full-time, but immediately regretted my decision after.
Although i got my full-time salary back, i hated my life until recently.
I hated the stress, the rush, the madness in the mornings, the fatigue... and constantly felt these were not worth whatever money i brought in.

It's only the last month or so that i kinda talked myself into it, eased up a lil and the tension slowly ebbed.
I'm on a full-time schedule, but work only 6-7 hrs a day and finish early enough (by 2pm most days) to fetch my son home from school.
Why should i change jobs?
After picking him up from school, we've got the rest of the day to play, go out, take a nap, swim, watever....
Should i really trade in these for more money?

My answer is: not now.

It's a great opportunity but i am contented where i am, and i'll let it pass.
It's hard to quantify time with your child, and i won't attempt to do that.
Opportunities may come again, but Marco won't be 2 again... and at this point, i do still want to be a huge part in his life.
It's not like i'm jobless now anyway.
We earn enough and save enough, and i still have a great work-life balance.
Not gonna rock this precious boat at this point.