dreams. moments. blue skies.

Saturday, April 28, 2007

HaPpY

At my parents' home now cos Terence is at the Alan Tam concert.
Eewww...i know, Alan tam???!!!
He's 56 and still jiggling with it apparently!
Anyway.

I spoke to Jackie Chan today!
Yea, it was a nice media event by California Fitness, celebrating their new branch at Velocity.
Video-ed the interview and caught a few shots for my personal collection.
He's very very likeable.
Candid, smiley, chatty, spirited, super-energetic, mega-super fit.
Can speak equally well in English, Mandarin + Cantonese.
Much much taller and bigger than he looks on screen. Good-looking + glowy skin.
And surprise surprise, he himself panned the Rush Hour trilogy.

Anyway, it was a nice event to mention.
Not often we get a megawatt star like Jackie Chan!
I do like kung fu flicks quite a lot.
So excuse my gushing about, well, just the best kung fu star out there.

Went for a bit of grooming these few days.
With the pregnancy and all, its so important not to let myself go.
It's only now, with all chemical processes prohibited, that I realise just how much grooming we depend to look like the us we know.

  • Hair colour touch ups.
  • Hair conditioning treatments.
  • Eyebrow shaping + tinting.
  • Manicures + Pedicures.
  • Waxing.
  • Facials.
  • Endless shopping to 'keep up'.
Gosh. Womanhood sure is troublesome.
Lucky mine is a lil boy!
Yea, the detailed scan done last wk confirmed its a boy.
I'm happy!
I've always wanted a lil boy to fuss with.
He'll be as cute, fun, sporty, kind, smart, righteous and irresistible as my brothers & Terence.
Terence wants to name him 'Marco', after that Dutch footballer Marco van Basten.
????????!!!!!!!


Today, after a long-deserved and luxurious mani/pedi session at Lush,
I decide to make the most of my pregnancy and quit moaning abt it.
I mean, besides my body, life hasn't really changed that much.
I can still do most of the things I did, now that my morning sickness has gone.
At salons, malls, cafes, bookshops, movie theatres or with Terence.
It really is predominantly how I spent my time, except i can't run like before.

It really is not that bad once you come to terms with it.
Of course, i can't help feeling fat and ugly etc etc.
But its really all in the mind.
Terence says he finds my changing body shape "special and beautiful", and he feels very much like a family man and excited about our baby.
I should be more like him, positive and excited.
Not always thinking about myself and how i look.

Besides, motherhood is about the greatest experience coming my way all my life.
I'm more than halfway into the pregnancy now - just 3 months plus to go.
I'm happy me and Terence can have a family this early in life.
When we are both very young, healthy and energetic.
And there will be 3 of us in our cosy home, which is a beautiful precious thing.
Life is great. Praise the Lord.

Thursday, April 26, 2007

baby fats

The rainy spell continues.
Yesterday the thunder was so spooky and L-O-U-D.
First time i'm spooked in this house!
JOlted me out of bed and I was trembling as I washed my face,
Certain something was behind me.

On another note, I think I felt the baby's movements.
It's so slight it feels just like a heartbeat.
Except it repeats faster, like maybe 2-3x at a go and then, stop.
I only feel it when my body is completely still.

Later is the detailed scan where I'll get to see the baby's face, hands, fingers, legs etc.
Quite thrilling.
And I'm very pregnant now.
Yesterday, i was buying nasi lemak at Tiong Bahru when the auntie asked
"Is it a boy or girl?"
Tis the FIRST time a stranger has noticed I'm pregnant, so yea, my belly is huge now.
Gone are those comments "Really? I can't tell you're pregnant!"
Sigh.
Ok la, tis the 5th month anyway.

Yesterday, i read an article about new mother Junita Simon, the supermodel.
And by her 8th month, she'd only put on 9kg.
That's bloody impossible! It really is a model's genes isn't it?
It's only my 5th month and i'd already piled on a too-generous 6kg!
Wah lau, talk about perspectives.
Shanmei said she put on 15-17kg during her first pregnancy by the time she's due.
So i'm not alone!

Anyway, this weight thing is crazy.
Why am I so obsessed?

Monday, April 23, 2007

Fat Weekend

Spent the weekend at home.
Terence is off to Bangkok till tomorrow.

Still, it took me until Saturday nite to make my way home. Parents' home, that is.
Cos i was nursing a headache on Friday...and slept alone in my big empty bed.
Woke up feeling kinda weird.
The house, without my baby, is really not the same.
Everything smells of him, yet he's not there. Miserable.

Talked on the phone with Shanmei till we both were pretty deadbeat at 4am.
Woke up late on Saturday and met Marcus + Joe for lunch at HV.
Went sourcing for baking stuff (??!!) with Marcus, who, believe it or not, is a whizz with cakes!
He was so sweet to bring along 3 pretty choco cupcakes he made for us.
Honestly, I was sceptical at first. I mean, a grown guy that bakes?

But oh man, his cupcakes are really awesome!
He kept telling us he worries it's too dry...
but i think he's just calling our bluff. It was near-perfect!
Moist-y moist, and yummyz!
I dunno if its the best i've eaten, but it's definitely better than a lot I've tried.

Then we went around Chip Bee looking at cooking schs and bakery shops.
All pretty pretty stuff that ain't cheap.
I love meeting these guys. They are so themselves.
Of course, wat we do are kinda different these days.
We used to go cycling, kayaking, running on weekends or long breaks.
Now they can hardly believe their tomboy fren is pregnant!
5 months!
Marcus took half an hour to register that fact.
Anyway, i'm sure they will be my workout buddies again after the baby is born.
Except for Marcus, the rest are mighty fighting fit!

And we have a new term - "happy stick"!
They very kindly admitted that yes, i'd put on weight.
And looked "healthier". Can't stand all these euphenisms!
The conversation went smthg like that...

Them: Anyway you were too thin in the past la. Your arms were like that (exaggerated gesture).
Me: Not at all! That was just nice. And anyway, i'm much happier then. Size matters ok, you don't understand one la. Now I'm so fat its depressing.
Marcus: Haha, so you were happier being a stick!
Joe: So you were a Happy Stick! hahhaha........
Marcus: Yea yea, Happy Stick. That's you!

Goofballs.

After we split, i went to Terence's shop cos I bought some desserts for his mum.
They were very sweet to call me everyday since Terence flew off, making sure I'm fine, eating well, safe etc etc.
So i thought I'll pop by and get them some sweets.
Then had coffee with my sis-in-law at Coffee Bean.

By the time i reached home, it was about 7pm.
Lazed about the whole time after dinner. Was quite bored, honestly.
Watched a disappointing Man Utd. game with my brother till 2am.
That was nice. Haven't watched soccer with him for eons.
Surprisingly, he wasn't out with his (new!) gf either!

Did I also say I love his honesty?
Conversation below took place when I was lying on his bed.


Him: (suddenly turned around from the computer) OMG, wat is that? Look at your huge stomach!
Me: Pregnant wat.
Him: Oh please, only 10% of that is your baby. The rest is you!
Me: (defeated...)
Him: But look at Mummy. If you are 5 mths pregnant, she's about to pop anytime!
Me: hhaahahhahaaa

He is an idiot.

Thursday, April 19, 2007

For the record, Tuesday 24th April was the worst day of my career.

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Spa me to the Moon



One job perk I can always count on is Spa Visits!
Not just visit, but E-X-P-E-R-I-E-N-C-E the works --- massages, facials, mani etc.

Here, i just wanna remember and recommend the decadent and not-so-oohsome ones.

So you know which to try and get the most bang for your buck. No bias, no censorship, just the honest truths. Presenting: the reviews I wish i can write in my magazine.

Top Facials

Aspara Spa @ Goodwood Park Hotel
The place is simply done-up right at the rear of Goodwood Park. In fact, i like that it doesn't set out to overwhelm or impress with all that zen-ness rubbish. Has a rustic touch that is very soothing actually. The facial was fantastic. Look for therapist Siew Poh - she's very thorough and careful. Her extraction was precise and quick, massage was just nice, very comprehensive and thoughtful service. One of the longest facials I've ever had - at 2 1/2 hours, but includes a quick manicure too (mine was the Marine Facial). Blissful time. Came out with my skin clearly revitalised. You really can see the difference! 5/5


Face Bistro
Affordable and nice beauty boutique at Holland Village. Started by celeb makeup artist Dily Wang, who has such beautiful skin at 45 you really wanna kill her to know her secret. The whole place has a very nice and chic Japanese feel to it. Look for therapist Jasmine, this spunky girl who's always so cheery and smiley. Light and painless extraction is done, but their secret lies in the facial massage. Apparently, it's the Japanese and correct way. They are also famous for their other Face Sculpting Massage, which supposedly slims facial contours. Sounds like a load of bull for $300 but I may try after pregnancy, haha! The rooms were quite small though, but since it doesn't affect the facial per se, thou shalt not judge on that. But yes, very enjoyable and I also came out swearing my skin has never looked or glowed better. 4/5


Worst Facial

True Spa @ Ngee Ann City
The place was impressive and massive. But oh, how terrible the 2-hr facial was. The extraction was bloody painful, the fruit enzyme peel was unnecessary and i kept wondering what the therapist was gonna do next. I came out looking terrible - blotchy skin RED all over. Ugly! I remembered i wanted to shop at Taka after the facial, but cos of how gruesome my skin looked, I had to take a cab straight home. To think this was the most expensive facial. Luckily i did it for my story and didn't have to pay a cent! The only nice part was the upper back massage, but everything they put or did on my face was irksome. Urgghh.

Thursday, April 05, 2007

Pasta, Ribs & Love



So can you see my tummy bump??
It's 4 months and counting! 17 weeks to be precise.

We had a really goodie makan at HRC.
Did I mention that the HRC shop is really cool too?
Kinda ex, like $40-$50 for basic crew-neck cotton tees.
But the designs aren't half bad. And the caps are nice!
Why am I talking abt the shop?!!
We had pesto pasta (me) + ribs + soup + dessert so-sweet-it-hurts.
Surprisingly, the place was pretty packed for a nothing Wednesday.
The only thing that's changed is the new XXXL ESPN projector screen right in the middle where the band used to be.
They raise the screen at 930pm to make way for the band, so don't worry, the music's still pretty good.
But since we were there about 8+, we were accompanied by stereo music, Avril Lavigne's concert and non-stop Champions League action.
So, of course Terence had a bloody good time.

I still like HRC. Haven't been there in, like, 5 years?
It still rocks. Still got the vibe.
Amazing. It's like some stalwart from the 80s or something.
All that cliche rock stuff...but still kinda cool.














Wednesday, April 04, 2007

KATE MOSS FOR TOPSHOP







The Kate Moss for Topshop collection is OUT!
Of all times and ages and eras, why must she do it when i'm friggin' pregnant??!
It's lovely of course.
Very much like what you see her wear around.
Slim-fitting dresses with interesting details, tunic dresses, lots of denim and casual tanks, rock-party wear. Indeed very her.
Oh man, I cannot cannot cannot wait for it to reach our Wisma boutique.

On the other hand, ex-supermodel Helene Christensen has also turned designer.
Her collection's a lot more down-to-earth and easier to relate for most, i guess.






2nd anniversay

Drama at work today...but shall skip that and totally junk it out of my system.
Becos,
Today is my 2nd anniversary with the love of my life.
And (I must add lest i suffer from a guilty conscience the whole day), my brother's 22nd birthday.
But we alr celebrated for him on Sunday, and I've given him enough cash for his celebration to last a month.

We're gog to Hard Rock Cafe for our dinner.
It's not so much the dinner and the gestures...
I'm just so glad we cleared everything yesterday before midnight,
so our anniversary can be celebrated in love and joy
And not be soiled with arguments, disagreements, tiffs, bad episodes etc.

We had a major tiff last nite.
Right after dinner at Maxwell Market, Terence stormed off.
I was shocked, and stood by the road....
You know the cliche, "rooted to the ground".
I experienced something to that effect, as I watched him walked off, with nary a head turn.

The worst part is, 10 seconds later, in my shell-shocked state,
I saw the glowing bride-to-be Qiuli and her fiance Eric cross the road towards me.
They were clearly all wrapped up in romantic bliss,
preparing for their wedding photoshoot the next morning.
I somehow managed to call out to them and even more amazingly, pulled off looking somewhat cheerful.
Seeing me in Chinatown, the first thing she asked was, "Where's Terence?"
It took all of me to not say that, oh, he just very angrily stormed off cos we had a fight.
Instead, i fibbed that he's at the shop and i'm walking towards there.
Liar liar, backside on fire.

Then I walked all the way home and we had one of those thrash-things-out-talk at the Fullerton waterfront.
A very tiring 2 hours later, we were fine.
11.15pm.

I suspect 90% of all our problems and issues stem from me.
Really. When everything is thought and discussed rationally and calmly, it's plain to see.
It's always me at the root of all quarrels.
He's simply too good to be true.
I also suspect the strange pregnancy hormones got someth to do with this.
Not trying to avert the blame, but its hard even for myself to comprehend how bull-headed, unreasonable, illogical, ridiculous, imaginative, mean I can be.

Anyway, the sweetheart, despite how evil I am, actually personally went down to HRC to book the table for tonight.
How sweet is that.
I better come to my senses and realise this man is absolutely for keeps.
And stop my insanity. Stop hurting him. Stop damaging our relationship.

He ought to be enshrined as some model husband for all guys to follow.
That's how lucky I am.
In my mind sometimes, i think i married an angel.

Monday, April 02, 2007

in another place

A bad day.
If I were in Brissy, i'd head to Milton and have a nice hot cuppa in that cosy impossibly-perfect bookshop.
That kinda old-skool all-brown, all-cosy, coffee-and-cake-with-books bookshop.
Where the world kinda stops moving except by words.
I can be buried there the whole afternoon and i'll still discover something old/new each time.
It's not huge like Kino/Borders. Not clinical/convenient and comprehensive like that.
They don't have every genre under the sun.
It's just simple books that appeal to people like us.

Or I can take a ferry ride right in school.
And feel the cool river breeze in my hair and on my face.
Refreshed.

Or perhaps cycle along the river at Coronation.
That is a beautiful sight that can reduce me to tears.
And when i'm tired, i'll sit by the edge and dangle my legs as I look at the ebb and flow of the amazing river.
Maybe i'll have a fren with me. Maybe i'll be alone.
It will be beautiful and therapeutic either way.

If i'm in Melbourne, I'll sit with my brother in a cafe.
The weirdest thing is sitting by a cafe with my bro.
He is NOT a cafe/coffee/cake person.
He is NOT into sitting down, passing time, looking at people, chatting.
He won't even understand the menu and what they serve him.
But he will do it. Uncomfortably, restlessly and awkwardly.
And that, for some reason, makes me feel very warm and delighted!
I am a sadist, i already know.